Award Announcement: Summer 2014 BCLA Awards

Wednesday, July 16, 2014



July 16, 2014
Contact:  Allyson Hall



Congratulations to the BCLA Professional Opportunities Awardees


The Appalachian College Association (ACA) is pleased to announce the awardees of the Innovation & Enrichment Development Opportunities (IEDO) mini-grant and the Professional Development Opportunity (PDO) mini-grant. The purpose of these awards is to provide funding to librarians and library staff to pursue short-term, professional development activities and enhance professional pursuits that otherwise would not be possible.

Congratulations to the applicants below who have been awarded a Summer 2014 BCLA Award.  For more information, please visit the ACA website:


  • Campbellsville University, John Burch, PDO
  • Ferrum College, Brandi Porter, , IEDO
  • Lenoir-Rhyne University, Konni Shier, PDO
  • Tusculum College, Crystal Johnson, IEDO



The Appalachian College Association is an organization of 36 independent liberal arts colleges that provides expanded and enhanced learning opportunities to faculty and students for the purpose of serving the educational and economic well-being of the people and communities of Central Appalachia. This educational consortium offers a wide variety of academic, research, scholarship, library and travel programs serving more than 54,000 students and 4,000 faculty in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. The Appalachian College Association is an independent 501 (c)(3) incorporated organization.